fluidstill.blogg.se

Firewire external drives for mac
Firewire external drives for mac














If you are just hoping to offload your data to a backup drive for a few days sure go for an external HD, although please do not be fooled into thinking this is a long term backup medium because it just is not. At the very least I would recommend backing up to DVD (8x burners are now shipping) when using Retrospect 6.0 you can spread your data over multiple DVD's.

#Firewire external drives for mac archive

I would recommend in either archiving your data to preferably a backup tape system such as LTO or AIT3 these will allow you to archive over 100GB per tape ($50 per tape(AIT3) and will provide you with a long term storage option. I cannot tell you how many FireWire and External SCSI drives I have had go bad, that is the last thing you will want to have happen to you when you need to recall an old session etc. While drive prices have come down drastically lately it can be a big draw to want to spend only $200 dollars on a drive to use as a backup, although let me be perfectly clear, an external FireWire or harddrive is not a viable long term storage solution. But I'm not sure if this becomes a problem when I convert to ProTools 6/OS X. Do I need FireWire 800/Oxford 922, or is Firewire 400/Oxford 911 adequate if I intend to use for backup data drive only? The external drive I have is Oxford 911, and it has worked fine. Would you recommend other brands instead?Ģ. I assume OWC are still using IBM drives, but I haven't yet called to ask them.ġ. With no other guidance, I would probably go back to OWC. I just have not been following the hard drive market. I have one external firewire drive for data backup: OWC Mercury Elite FireWire External Pro (Oxford 911), which houses an IBM DeskStar 60GXP 60GB drive.

firewire external drives for mac

I currently have three internal data drives (IBM DeskStar GXP120, 80GB, 7200rpm) in addition to the system drive.

firewire external drives for mac

What is currently a good external firewire hard drive for backing up my audio data?














Firewire external drives for mac